Tipsy Gecko Villa

  based on 34 reviews
Keyfacts
  •   12
  •   5
  •   4
  • SQF 4,000
  •  wifi
  •  A/C
  •  Pool
  •  

Description

Villa Tipsy Gecko is a magnificent large very open two story private waterfront beach house located directly on the Caribbean Sea in Placencia, Belize. Outstanding features radiate luxury and beauty throughout this exquisite 5+ Bedroom, 4.5 Bath residence. (5th bedroom does not have its own bath, but a half bath across the hall)

Located just 1 mile south from the Placencia Hotel and 1 mile north of Maya Beach. The home is uniquely located in upscale area that provides for a very private beach setting, yet it is close to fine dining and other upscale resorts in an exclusive section of Placencia, just 10 minutes from Placencia Village and air strip.

Home is meticulously maintained by full time onsite staff and very active owners that continue to invest in property and make improvements like the private pool on beach and large covered ocean pier with bar, hammocks, and lounge chairs.

The main home is two stories consisting of over 4,000 sq ft of living area and covered patios directly over looking a private beach, private covered ocean pier. A great view over the lagoon and the Mayan Mountains can also be had from upstairs living area and from the street side covered deck located on the front side of home.

Upstairs in the home you will find two master bedrooms suites each directly over looking the ocean that provide breathtaking views. Each master suite includes a large private bathroom, balcony and huge walk in showers. A large living area and full size walk around bar, complete with 50' flat screen TV and private covered balcony are located between the two master bedrooms making an ideal setting for two couples to use the home at the same time. Another bedroom with a full/twin bunk bed set up, is also located upstairs. This bedroom does not have its own bath but there is a half bath across the hall.

The two remaining bedrooms are located on the first floor, each with its own private bath.

Cook dinner on the large outside gas grill and enjoy a local drink while relaxing under the fans on the large covered patio steps from the ocean. After dinner, enjoy a quiet private walk on the beach with no one around or retire upstairs to enjoy a drink at the large full walk around bar, complete with 50' flat screen TV, or sit on the adjacent large covered 2nd floor balcony.

Calendar is accurate and updated. If dates desired are not shown as available please check out our other 2 beach homes located next door on beach. Home can sleep up to 36 when combined with Groovy Gecko and Jammin Gecko located next door on the beach.

Bedroom Setup:

  • Bedroom 1 First Floor - 1 Queen
  • Bedroom 2 First Floor - 1 Queen
  • Master Suite 1 Second Floor - 1 King
  • Master Suite 2 Second Floor - 1 Queen
  • Living Room First Floor - 1 Pull Out Sofa
  • Bedroom Second Floor - Full/Twin Bunk Bed
  • 1 Pack and Play (crib) and 1 Portable High Chair Booster Seat

Other features of the home include:

  • Privacy Fence with driveway gate.
  • Home is decorated, fully furnished and outfitted.
  • Custom high end construction and finish out, all high end natural stone flooring throughout with no carpet in home. Main living areas are on the first floor so ideally for those not wanting to navigate stairs to get to the kitchen or living area.
  • Home is complete with 150 foot covered ocean pier, private pool in back yard of home on beach, and large lagoon lot across the street with pier and garden.

Following items are INCLUDED with rental:

  • DAILY MAID SERVICE
  • 24 HOUR CARETAKER
  • PRIVATE CHEF (3 days included with weekly rental after 6/1/2014)
  • USE OF 6 SEAT GAS GOLF CART
  • ONSITE LAUNDRY AND WASHING OF GUESTS CLOTHING BY ONSITE STAFF
  • USE OF KAYAKS, PADDLEBOARDS, AND BICYCLES AT HOME
  • USE OF PLACENCIA HOTEL POOL
  • TRANSFERS TO/FROM PLACENCIA AIRSTRIP
  • WI-FI WITH HIGH SPEED INTERNET AND FREE PHONE SERVICE TO USA
  • Detached staff apartment, laundry room and storage lockers are located in separate building on the property.
  • Grocery shoping and conceirge service by onsite care taker. Prior to your arrival, you will be sent an email to plan your menu and the chef will offer to pre-purchase any groceries you might like.

Rooms

4 Bathroom, 5 Bedroom, 1 Dining-Room, 1 Kitchen, 1 Living room


Amenities
  • Sleeping
    1 Baby crib, 1 Child bed, 1 King bed, 3 Queen bed, 1 Studio couch, 1 Single bed
  • Cooking
    Child's high chair, Coffee machine, Cooking utensils, Dish washer, Kitchen stove, Microwave, Oven, Refrigerator, Toaster, Chef Services
  • Heating/Cooling
    Air conditioning, Ceiling fans
  • Outside
    Private Balcony, Beach, Mountain Views, Ocean Pier
  • Entertainment
    DVD-Player, Wireless Broadband Internet, Stereo system, Telephone, TV (Satellite), Events Allowed, Games, Video Game Console
  • Sanitary
    Hair dryer, Shower, Washbasin
  • Laundry
    Clothes dryer, Iron & Board, Washing machine
  • Miscellaneous
    Safe, Security system
Facilities
  • Spa & Gym
    Ping-Pong-Table, Unheated Outdoor swimming pool
  • Outside
    Deck chairs, Bicycles, Canoe/Kayak, Private Garden, Gated-Community, Golf cart
Policies
Children welcome, Pets not allowed, Smoking not allowed,Accessible 24/7, Housekeeper Included, Laundry service Included
Check in:
3:00 PM
Check out:
12:00 PM (noon)
Map
Loading...
Available
Unavailable
4.9
based on 34 reviews
Megan Niceman (DFW, TX)
Add This To Your Bucket List

Every expectation was overly exceeded! Starting from the professional and courteous owners and also having wonderful housing staff and maintenance to amenities and conveniency for all sorts of attractions and entertainment. Not only was there a handy binder full of ideas to enjoy your stay but David and Kathy were also able to provide helpful information and suggestions for most, if not all, of the attractions. The housekeeping was exceptional. Clean clothes and towels along with a spotless living area each day, made it hard to leave when the time came. Whether you prefer a private vacation or enjoy meeting new people, this place has its own beachfront pier and private pool or within minutes, you can enjoy the beautiful scenery with local and/or tourist company at resorts, on either side of the house. As if the house isn't fulfilling enough itself, there is transportation provided to nearby excursions and entertainment ranging from zip line and bowling to snorkeling or fishing, and so much more. Grocery stores and restaurants are also conveniently located just down the street from the house, for easy and delicious dining experiences. I could not have been more pleased with my experience at the Tipsy Gecko!! I'd rank this trip a 10, and will be returning in the near future!!! Submitted: May 26, 2014 Stayed: Apr 2014 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Not specified  |  stayed in 7/2017

Barbara R.
Barb R

I have rented through VRBO numerous times and have to say that TIPSY GECKO exceeds 5 stars. This rental is as close as you can get to an all inclusive. Kelley, the owner, was always responsive to questions and was very thoughtful and provided detailed information. She was also available for a call to discuss the rental further. Mabel was there to greet us with a special welcoming drink and flowers. She reviewed all the needed information including how to connect to the FREE wi-fi and FREE voice over IP phone so those needing to call the states would not be charged a fee. Mabel also reviewed how to reach her with a cell phone that was provided for local calls. If you are traveling with teens; encourage them to use an app such as skype to decrease unnecessary phone charges. Mabel also arranged all excursions to ensure our stay was hassle free. Packing light is highly encouraged for Mabel does laundry daily; honestly I wish I had packed a few days of clothes, swimsuits and 1 semi-dressy outfit to venture out for dinner. Also, no need to pack those bulky beach towels for they, too, are provided. Since Domingo and Mickey (nickname he shared) provide three days of cooking (breakfast, lunch and dinner) eating out was minimal; especially since many of the excursions provide lunch. The meals were heavenly and they served the meals as well as did the dishes. We did not rent a car and used the golf cart to get to town for shopping and exploring. Everyone we encountered greeted us with a smile and was very friendly. Unfortunately, our stay ended all too soon and we had to return to reality, doing our own laundry and cooking our own meals. Additional thoughts for consideration. We went during the raining season and this may have made the water off the beach very muddy so we spent the majority of the time in the pool. Also, the mosquitoes were horrific but learned that when we applied sun screen followed by repellent; they tended to leave us alone. Also, the pier tended to be mosquito free as the breeze kept them away. I highly recommend this rental and many thanks to Kelley, Mabel, Javier, Domingo and Mickey for a once in a life-time vacation. Submitted: Jul 11, 2016 Stayed: Jul 2016 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Not specified  |  stayed in 7/2017

Eleanor J. (Austin, TX)
Absolutely lovely property with amazing staff!

My family and I went here for my little brother and sister's high school graduation trip, and I have not a single complaint. It was an absolutely wonderful trip, and the house is just as beautiful as it appears in pictures. There were 13 of us in there, and it didn't feel cramped at all (even with three people in a king bed). Mabel was so very easy to work with and coordinated everything for us. They have a cell phone that you can use for local calls, and she was always quick to answer and help with whatever needed. She had an amazing chip and dip spread with punch and rum waiting for us when we arrived, and she made us feel so at home. Domingo made the most tasty food and was more than willing to accommodate any requests including an incredible chocolate cake for my Mom's birthday. It was wonderful to have a cleaning crew daily to help tidy the house (it's amazing how sand seems to get everywhere) and do laundry if needed. The golf cart made it incredibly easy to get around-town is about a 30-45 drive, but there are a few restaurants/places to explore closer. We also had use of paddle boards and kayaks that were shared among the Tipsy Gecko villas (there are three) and definitely got a lot of use out of those. I could go on and on about all the little details that made the stay wonderful, and I would HIGHLY recommend this property to anyone. The only negative (which is no reflection on the Tipsy Gecko) is the bugs! Make sure to bring lots of bug spray for the mosquitoes and baby oil for the dang sand fleas. I came back covered in bites because I was not proactive enough about putting it on from the get go. Thanks Mabel, Domingo, and crew for one of my most favorite trips yet! Submitted: Jun 22, 2017 Stayed: Jun 2017 Source: HomeAway

Not specified  |  stayed in 6/2017

Bobby D.
Great break from the rat race. Highly recommend

Staff is awesome. Belize is a great place to decompress and relax. Alway fill welcome at Gecko properties Submitted: Jun 7, 2017 Stayed: May 2017 Source: HomeAway

Not specified  |  stayed in 5/2017

Jeff R.
Beautiful and carefree

Wonderful time, staff was excellent and friendly. What can we say about the food..... Delicious, beautiful presentation and a wonderful Belizean experience. Thank you for helping us make great memories. Submitted: Apr 9, 2017 Stayed: Apr 2017 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Not specified  |  stayed in 4/2017

Lori F. (Portland, OR)
Fabulous home with amazing, attentive Staff!!!

What a perfect place for 4 couples to come together for some real R&R! The house was amazing! The pool and outdoor patio were a favorite hangout spot. But, the pier!!! We spent many hours out there sunbathing, guys fishing, gazing at sunsets and listening to Belize's Top 40 radio station! Mabel was so responsive and helpful prior to and during our time there. So grateful for her organization and planning! Domingo was very easy to work with when we needed to exchange regular rum for coconut rum. And, George's meals were really wonderful! We enjoyed talking with him and we were so pleased with his presentation! The housekeeping staff were also very attentive and thorough. Daily service and laundry? Yes, please! Highly recommend the Gecko Villas to anyone! Can't wait to plan our next trip! Submitted: Mar 15, 2017 Stayed: Feb 2017 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Not specified  |  stayed in 2/2017

Suzanne D. (Chicago, Illinois)
Belize Hide-a-way

We had a terrific time over the Christmas and New Year's holiday in 2016/2017 staying at the Tipsy Gecko. With five rooms, there was plenty of space for us to enjoy this lovely home. It is secluded, but close to restaurants and beach clubs. The private pool was lovely and the doc so close. We didn't swim off the doc, but saw beautiful fish. The doc was a great place to sit in a hammock and catch up on a good book. We had the Chef, Domingo prepare meals for three days. Just lovely. Mabel took very good care of us. Submitted: Jan 16, 2017 Stayed: Dec 2016 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Not specified  |  stayed in 12/2016

myriam H. (Apex nc)
EPIC Vacation at the SPECTACULAR Typsy Gecko!!

I wanted a special location to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday and Typsy Gecko exceeded my expectations and "WOW'ed" my husband. The owner was SO helpful, very responsive with information and answering all of my questions. She even helped me plan special events for my husband. From the moment we arrived, everyone was so kind and Javier picked us up in an air conditioned, comfy van. When we entered the house, it takes your breath away. The pictures are beautiful but like the old saying goes "it doesn't do it justice". Every room was beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean and complete with everything you would need - and more! Mable had prepared a delicious punch and a beautiful flower arrangement. Step outside into absolute paradise! The patio, the pool, the beach, the pier.....I can go on and on. Everything was pristine clean and as you try to take everything in, you're already figuring how many days you get to soak it all in before having to go home. Within minutes of arriving, we were in the pool, drinking punch and didn't have to do anything but start relaxing. I can't say enough about the staff - Javier, Mabel, Domingo, Mickey, the groundskeeper, housekeeper, pool guy - everyone so warm and friendly and GENUINELY want to ensure you are having a good time. Mabel and Domingo helped me plan the most memorable night for my husband with a candlelight dinner on the pier that was like a scene in a romantic movie - indescribable! My husband said he will never forget that night. Mabel was so helpful in helping us with the tours that were perfect for what we were wanting. We did 2 snorkeling tours with Splash - one to Silk Caye and the other to Laughing Bird Caye. Silk Caye has amazing snorkeling - we saw too many things to write in this review and capped the day off by swimming with the nurse sharks, sting rays and sea turtles. Laughing Bird Caye was a prettier Caye but didn't have as much sea life as Silk Caye - at least the day we were there. The meals prepared by Domingo and Mickey were delicious, plentiful, beautifully presented and ooohhhh the deserts! They were so accommodating as to what time we wanted to the meals. Domingo even did our grocery shopping for us! The pier is a perfect place to relax, read, sleep - Chillax! The paddle boards and kayaks were fun to use and explore the area. The golf cart was a perfect mode of transportation - no need to rent a car. We can't wait to return - this place is amazing!!! Submitted: Aug 16, 2016 Stayed: Aug 2016 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Not specified  |  stayed in 8/2016

Kim H.
The best vacation with the whole Harrison Family!

We really loved our stay at Villa Tipsy Gecko! The staff was delightful and made our time there thouroghly enjoyable! All of our needs were taken care of. All 13 of us! We had a great time getting together! We would definitely love to go back! Thank you so much! The Harrison Family! Submitted: Jul 13, 2016 Stayed: Jun 2016 Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway

Not specified  |  stayed in 6/2016

Norman P.
Awesome stay

This property has everything you would want. Access to beautiful views, golf cart, clothes washed and folded daily, a chef for 3 days/3 meals per day! A true vacation. The whole staff is so helpful and Mabel made everything come together for our celebration of my parents 50th anniversary! I couldn't ask for more. The only thing I would say needs improvement is when you schedule a pick up time from the Placencia airport after flying a long time you shouldn't be left stranded at the airport. If we wouldn't have rented a car and arrived easier I'm not sure how my Sister and our friend would have arrived. So just be careful if you are flying into the Placencia airport. Other than that it was a Awesome trip, pool, resort pool access, everything! I would recommend this to anyone who wants to have a relaxing and adventurous trip to a beautiful country. Couldn't ask for more! Submitted: Jun 15, 2016 Stayed: May 2016 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Owner's Response: So sorry your additional guests were left at the airstrip I know that is stressful. This is not our normal policy. I did look into what happened to avoid issues in the future and it was a miscommunication; the caretaker was under the impression you were planning to pick them up and he was away on an errand when they arrived. Lost in translation as they say. I'm glad your group had a good vacation and enjoyed the house after the pickup was resolved!

replied by the owner (7/10/2017 10:24:51 PM)

Not specified  |  stayed in 5/2016

Gecko Vacations
Phone

 +18173001279

Spoken languages
English
OR
Loading...
Upps!
You're running a web browser we don't fully support. Please upgrade it for a better experience.
Our site works best with Google Chrome.
How to upgrade the browser